In September 1871, the Michigan Central Railroad (MCRR) leased the Jackson, Lansing & Saginaw Railway through Standish. The very first depot stood south of the present historical site. Built of wood, this structure deteriorated so quickly that by 1877 it became a serious problem for the MCRR. During that year, the village was informed that a new depot would be constructed of large fields stones donated by local farmers. The stone depot was completed in 1889.
The depot suffered a fire sometime during the construction phase although there is no official record of a specific date. In the late 1880's into the 1900's, a volunteer band of about 18 musicians put on weekly concert in the summer time at the Band Stand (the current one is a "near" reproduction).
By 1927, the Depot Park began to diminish in use and to deteriorate for lack of upkeep. 1929 found passenger business falling away as fast as it had once grown. Only four passenger trains ran through town daily. In 1941 the N.Y.C. Railroad laid heavier rails on their main lines in hopes that they could carry heavier loads but the loads were not there to haul because the increasingly popular truck lines were already hauling them.
October 28, 1955 saw the last steam engine passenger coach pull into the M.C.R.R. Standish Train Depot.
Visitors can view railroad artifacts, documents, uniforms and more in the Depot's museum room.